News & Announcements Archive

Jun-ichi Igusa, Noted Mathematician and JHU Researcher, Dies at 89

Igusa was a professor of mathematics at JHU for nearly 40 years before he retired as professor emeritus in 1993. He was inducted as an inaugural Fellow of the American Mathematical Society in 2012 and previously served as editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Mathematics. Igusa was also the founding director of the Japan-U.S. Mathematics Institute.

Opening for a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor in the Analysis of Large Data Sets

Johns Hopkins University invites applications for a Bloomberg Distinguished Professorship in the area of the Mathematical Foundations of Data Intensive Computation and Inference. This position is one of 50 new Bloomberg Distinguished Professorships designated for outstanding scholars at the associate or full professor rank who carry out interdisciplinary research and teaching in areas identified for […]

Jean-Pierre Meyer, Professor Emeritus, Dies at 83

Jean-Pierre Meyer, professor emeritus in the Department of Mathematics at Johns Hopkins, died on April 24. He was 83. Born in Lyon, France, Meyer received his undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral degrees from Cornell University. He served in the U.S. Army for two years, followed by a teaching appointment at Syracuse University and then a research […]